January Reads

The month of January marked my very last college interterm—a glorious five week break from school. As usual, I spent a lot of time reading. Here’s a quick run-down of the books I read in January:

the_moon_and_more__spanThe Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

See my review of this book here.

15850937Frozen (Book 1 of Heart of Dread) by Melissa De La Cruz

Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Dystopia, Young Adult

See my review of this book here.

8525590Wither (Book 1 of The Chemical Garden Trilogy) by Lauren DeStefano

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult

Thoughts: This book came on the heels of reading Frozen and the Divergent series, and my main reaction was, “Really? Another dystopian novel?” It was depressing, mainly focusing on the failure of society. I probably won’t continue on with the trilogy.

origin-of-speciesThe Origin of the Species by Charles Darwin

Genre: Biology, Scientific Theory

Thoughts: Modern Western culture has been shaped by Darwin’s theory of evolution. As a Christian, it was interesting for me to come into contact with the theory itself. I realized that the scope of Darwin’s project is much smaller than I had believed. He doesn’t actually denounce the existence of God—his theory leaves room to include a Creator. See my post about this book at Evengelical Outpost.

14061955Storm and Siege (Book 2 of the Grisha Trilogy) by Leigh Bardugo

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

See my review of this book here.

imagesTiger’s Curse and Tiger’s Quest (Books 1 and 2 of Tiger’s Curse) by Colleen Houck

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Thoughts: Reading this book made me crave Indian food. The author has clearly done her homework, and weaves a delightful mix of Indian mythology, fantasy, and romance into a riveting series. I’m looking forward to the next two books.

mmhyattcvrPlatform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World by Michael Hyatt

Genre: Self-help, Business

Thoughts: This book blew me away. Helpful, informative, and easy to read. A must-read for anyone interested in marketing something, whether a product, service, or individual.

432px-Stamp_Soviet_Union_1948_CPA_1246The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels

Genre: Political theory, Philosophy

See my post on this book here.

Here’s to February!

2 thoughts on “January Reads

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of reading in one month. What an interesting and diverse set of books you read. And, you generated book reviews too. You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

