March Reads

March has been full of pages. Here are the books I’ve read and my accompanying thoughts:

chesterton_orthodoxy_larger21Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton

Genre: Christianity, Philosophy

This book has officially made it on my Top Ten list. I read it for the first time six years ago, but I was young and foolish, and didn’t take much in. This time around, I drank in every word. (Not that I’m a whole lot wiser, but perhaps I’m a bit more humble.) Chesterton’s writing is so clever, and his points resonate deeply. This is a must-read.


9780140444490
Fear and Trembling
 by Søren Kierkegaard

Genre: Christianity, Philosophy

Given the slightly disturbing cover, I liked this book a lot more than I thought I would. Kierkegaard was a Danish Christian philosopher, and one of the first existentialists, whose work paved the way for other famous philosophers such as Nietzsche and Freud. Fear and Trembling is full of an intense longing to be close to God, and expanded my view and awe of faith.

 

Tiger's Voyage_CoverTiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

The third book in the Tiger’s Curse series wasn’t my favorite. It felt like a reproduction of Eclipse, the third book in the Twilight series, which I had hoped never to encounter again. Two different guys vie for the main character’s attention. She has to choose between the two of them, which makes all three of them miserable. All this is happening while they’re fighting fantastic creatures and trying to stay alive.

 

Destiny(2)Tiger’s Destiny by Colleen Houck

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

The fourth book was much better than the third, and ends the series with a predictable “happily ever after.” I was actually surprised to hear the author is working on a fifth book. Doing that could potentially ruin the series.

 

142080Collected Poems 1909-1962 by T.S. Eliot

Genre: Poetry

T.S. Eliot is considered one of the greatest writers of the 20th century. Sometimes reading his poetry is a brilliant, enlightening experience. Most of the time though, it’s confusing or depressing. One of my friends once said of Eliot, “That guy is sometimes such a Christian!” He doesn’t avoid the tough issues, but wrestles with them and makes the reader wrestle with them too.

 

The-Wedding-Bees-199x300The Wedding Bees by Sarah-Kate Lynch

Genre: Fiction, Romance

A book about bees, romance, and learning to accept help from others. See my review of this book here.

 

17167166Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

This one was a page-turner—I finished it in about three days. It’s the second book in the Throne of Glass trilogy, and while it’s a fun read, caveat emptor! It’s got some moral issues I don’t agree with, such as the book’s flippant use of the main character as an assassin, and her selfish (and sometimes cruel) method of dealing with people.

My favorite book this month is Orthodoxy, though it’s followed closely by The Wedding Bees. Chesterton’s writing is hard to beat.

Did you read any books in March? If so, what did you read and why? Post a comment!

2 thoughts on “March Reads

Leave a Reply

